University of Limerick President’s Annual Dinner

Mike Sheahy, Denise Croker, Kerstin Mey, Ruairi and Laura Ryan, Giedre Visockaite, William Brosnan, Maria and Fergus Barry, Kirby. Pic Arthur Ellis.
James and Mary Kealy, Bidvest Noonan. Pic Arthur Ellis.

Sandra Egan, Robert Burke, Anna Owens, Stephen Walker, Melissa Regan, Harry Fehily, Lisa Killeen, Sean Fitzgerald , Ciara Downes, Donal Creaton and Grace Lee, Holmes. Pic Arthur Ellis.

More than 300 business leaders, industry and government representatives attended the annual University of Limerick President’s Annual Dinner organised by the UL Foundation.  The event marked the final month of the University’s 50th anniversary celebrations.

The theme of the event was Sustainability with proceeds supporting the “UL Sustainability Challenge”, a competition for UL students to develop proposals to tackle our climate crisis.  The initiative is a partnership between the Bernal Institute, Faculty of Science and Engineering, Kemmy Business School, Buildings and Estates department and the Research Office which calls on students to submit ideas to make our environment more sustainable – to either the campus, the city or wider Mid-West region or further afield.

Entertainment on the evening was provided by the Irish World Academy of Music and Dance at UL, which is known internationally for its deep engagement with indigenous Irish music and dance traditions, as well as its openness to world cultures. Two musical showcases celebrated the local and global wells from which cultural sustainability renews itself: the Mulcahy family from West Limerick, who are the most recent winners of the prestigious  Gradam Ceoil; and a world music ensemble featuring staff, students and collaborators at the Academy.

UL Foundation Chairman Harry Fehily addressed guests and spoke about the enormous accomplishments since the institution’s inception back in 1972. 

In her speech, UL President Mey highlighted some of the University’s many achievements during the anniversary year, as well as telling guests about the exciting and ambitious plans ahead.

The 2023 President’s Annual Dinner was generously sponsored by Bidvest Noonan, Holmes and Kirby Group with guest prizes on the night supported by Shannon Airport Group.

Share This Article
Read more of our news stories More News